Museum

The museum at Ludwig van Beethoven's birth place is one of the most frequented music museums worldwide and one of the 100 most popular sights in Germany. Since September 14, 2019, the museum has been hosting a new permanent exhibition presenting objects from the Beethoven-Haus collection and a new approach to experiencing Beethoven as an artist and fellow human being in a modern, inspiring and exciting way.

Opening hours


The museum is open daily from 10am to 6pm.

Beethoven's birthplace is closed very rarely: New Year's Day, the Thursday and the Monday preceding Ash Wednesday, Good Friday, Easter Sunday, from 24 to 26 December, New Year's Eve

From December 17, the entire new Beethoven-Haus with all new areas - music room, treasury with original manuscripts, area for temporary exhibitions, shop and café - is open.


Location

The Beethoven-Haus (Bonngasse 20 und 24-26) is situated in the centre of Bonn on the edge of the pedestrian zone, not far from the river Rhine.
Bonngasse is within easy walking distance of the main station. Trams and buses stop at the nearby Bertha-von-Suttner-Platz, where taxis can also be found. The city car parks offer parking facilities: the closest are Stiftsgarage, Marktgarage and Friedensplatzgarage.

Width: 50°44'12.67"N
Lenght: 7° 6'4.50"E

Tram: 62, 65, 66 and 67
Bus: 529, 537, 540, 550, 551, 600, 601, 602, 603, 604, 605, 606, 607, 608, 609, 640
Stop: Bertha-von-Suttner-Platz / Beethoven-Haus

Admission

Prices 


Tickets:


Guided tours:


The prices are valid until 2019 December 31.

Birthplace

Beethoven's birthplace and dwelling

The house at Bonngasse 20, where composer Ludwig van Beethoven was born in December 1770, is one of the few remaining houses in Bonn built in the 18th century. Its baroque stone facade was erected over cellars dating back to the 12th or 13th century. The ground floor accommodated a kitchen and a utility room, underneath which was a cellar. On the first floor, there were two smaller rooms and a somewhat larger room. The bedrooms were in the attic.

Beethoven's parents, electoral court singer Johann van Beethoven and his wife Maria Magdalena, née Keverich, moved into the garden wing in November 1767. Other electoral court musicians lived nearby, among them Johann Peter Salomon in the front building, electoral court musical director Ludwig van Beethoven (grandfather) opposite of the street and hornist Nikolaus Simrock.

In 1774 the Beethoven family left their first house and moved to a place at the Auf dem Dreieck square. From 1776 on they lived for ten years with interruptions at Rheingasse in a house known as "Zum Walfisch", the so-called Fischer house, and from 1787 onwards at Wenzelgasse. None of the later Beethoven houses has survived.

The building in the 19th and 20th century

Permanent exhibition

Beethoven's birthplace and dwelling

On stepping into the inner courtyard, the historical atmosphere takes visitors back to Beethoven's times. A tour through the twelve rooms in the Museum afford deeper insight into the life and work of the great composer. Over 200 original exhibits reflect Beethoven's thoughts and emotions, work and influence.

Temporary exhibition

Our temporary exhibitions cover exciting topics on Beethoven, the historical background or reception history. The Beethoven-Haus has around three temporary exhibitions a year, often in cooperation with other museums and collections. Many of them are accompanied by books or catalogues.

Temporary exhibition
Future exhibitions
Past exhibitions
Kein Bild hinterlegt.

Internet exhibitions

As an accompainment to special exhibitions at the Beethoven-House several internet exhibitions were created. Certain topics can be accessed for further information:

Collection

The manuscripts, pictures, musical instruments and mementos displayed in the exhibitions form the core of the museum's collection. In the early years following the foundation of the Beethoven-Haus Association in 1889, important items such as Beethoven's last pianoforte (an instrument made by the Viennese piano manufacturer Conrad Graf), or the original manuscript of the "Moonlight" sonata and the "Pastoral" symphony were acquired. Today it is the largest and most diverse Beethoven collection in the world. It includes manuscripts, letters, pictures, busts, coins and medallions, musical instruments, furniture and everyday items used by Beethoven. The museum's collection is complemented by the library's holdings.

The collection is kept in a safe, built with conservation requirements in mind, which is under the stage in the chamber music hall. Many performers feel particularly inspired by this architectural symbolism.

Most of the Beethoven collection has been digitised. In the Digital Archives it is available to everyone. There are also catalogues for additional research.

Museum

Das Museum im Geburtshaus Ludwig van Beethovens zählt zu den meistbesuchten Musikermuseen der Welt und zu den 100 beliebtesten Sehenswürdigkeiten in Deutschland. Seit dem 14. September 2019 ist im Museum eine neue Dauerausstellung zu sehen, die Objekte aus der Sammlung des Beethoven-Hauses präsentiert und eine zeitgemäße, erlebnisorientierte und emotionale Begegenung mit dem Künstler und Menschen Beethoven ermöglicht.

Öffnungszeiten

Das Museum ist täglich von 10-18 Uhr geöffnet.

Geschlossen ist Beethovens Geburtshaus nur ganz selten: Neujahr, Weiberfastnacht, Rosenmontag, Karfreitag, Ostersonntag, vom 24. bis 26. Dezember und Silvester. 

Montag, 16. Dezember ausnahmsweise geschlossen (Geschlossene Gesellschaft)

Ab dem 17. Dezember 2019 ist das gesamte neue Beethoven-Haus mit allen neuen Bereichen - Musikzimmer, Schatzkammer mit Originalmanuskripten, Bereich für Wechselausstellungen, Shop und Café - geöffnet.


Anreise

Das Beethoven-Haus (Bonngasse 20 und 24-26) liegt im Zentrum von Bonn am Rand der Fußgängerzone unweit des Rheins.
Vom Hauptbahnhof aus erreicht man die Bonngasse zu Fuß in wenigen Minuten.
Straßenbahnen und Busse halten an der nahegelegenen Haltestelle Bertha-von-Suttner-Platz/Beethoven-Haus, an der sich auch Taxistände befinden.
Parkplätze bieten die innerstädtischen Parkhäuser; am nächsten gelegen sind Stiftsgarage, Marktgarage und Friedensplatzgarage.

Breite: 50°44'12.67"N
Länge: 7° 6'4.50"E
Straßenbahn: 62, 65, 66 und 67
Bus: 529, 537, 540, 550, 551, 600, 601, 602, 603, 604, 605, 606, 607, 608, 609, 640
Haltestelle: Bertha-von-Suttner-Platz / Beethoven-Haus

Eintritt

Preise


Eintrittskarten:

  • Beethoven-Haus, Bonngasse 21, schräg gegenüber dem Eingang zum Museum
  • Online-Buchung


Führungen:


Die genannten Preise gelten bis 31. Dezember 2019.

Gebäude

Beethovens Geburts- und Wohnhaus

Das Haus in der Bonngasse 20, in dem im Dezember 1770 der Komponist Ludwig van Beethoven geboren wurde, ist eines der wenigen erhaltenen Bonner Bürgerhäuser aus dem 18. Jahrhundert. Seine barocke Steinfassade wurde über einem Kellergewölbe aus dem 12. oder 13. Jahrhundert errichtet. Im Erdgeschoss befanden sich eine Küche und ein unterkellerter Wirtschaftsraum. Im ersten Stock gab es zwei kleinere und eine etwas größere Wohnstube, im Dachgeschoss befanden sich die Schlafkammern.

Beethovens Eltern, der kurfürstliche Hofsänger Johann van Beethoven und seine Frau Maria Magdalena, geb. Keverich, bezogen den Gartenflügel im November 1767. In der Nachbarschaft wohnten ebenfalls Musiker der kurfürstlichen Hofkapelle: im Vorderhaus Johann Peter Salomon, auf der gegenüberliegenden Straßenseite Kapellmeister Ludwig van Beethoven (Großvater) und Hornist Nikolaus Simrock.

1774 verließ die Familie Beethoven ihre erste Wohnung und bezog ein Quartier am Platz Auf dem Dreieck. Ab 1776 wohnte sie mit Unterbrechungen zehn Jahre in der Rheingasse, im Haus "Zum Walfisch", dem sog. Fischerschen Haus, ab 1787 in der Wenzelgasse. Keines der späteren Beethoven-Häuser ist erhalten geblieben.

Das Gebäude im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert

Dauerausstellung

Beethovens Geburts- und Wohnhaus

Schon beim Betreten des Innenhofes fühlt sich der Besucher durch das historische Ambiente des Hauses in Beethovens Zeit versetzt. Tiefere Einsicht in Leben und Werk des großen Komponisten gewährt ein Rundgang durch die Museumsräume. Über 200 originale Ausstellungsstücke reflektieren Beethovens Denken und Fühlen, Arbeiten und Wirken.

Sonderausstellung

Unsere Wechselausstellungen befassen sich mit spannenden Themen zu Beethoven und seinem historischen oder rezeptionsgeschichtlichen Umfeld. Die Präsentationen finden etwa dreimal jährlich in den Räumen des Beethoven-Hauses statt, öfter auch in Kooperation mit anderen Museen und Sammlungen. Zu vielen Ausstellungen erscheinen Bildbände oder Begleitbücher.

Aktuelle Sonderausstellung
Künftige Sonderausstellungen
Vergangene Sonderausstellungen
Kein Bild hinterlegt.

Internetausstellungen

Parallel zu Sonderausstellungen im Beethoven-Haus entstand eine Reihe von Online-Ausstellungen. Folgende Themen stehen zur Vertiefung bereit:

Sammlung

Die in den Ausstellungen gezeigten Handschriften, Bilder, Musikinstrumente und Erinnerungsstücke bilden den Kernbestand der Museumssammlung. Schon in den ersten Jahren nach der Gründung des Vereins Beethoven-Haus 1889 konnten so berühmte Stücke wie Beethovens letzter Hammerflügel (ein Instrument des Wiener Klavierbauers Conrad Graf) oder die Originalhandschriften der "Mondscheinsonate" und der "Pastoralsinfonie" erworben werden. Heute besitzt das Beethoven-Haus die größte und vielseitigste Beethoven-Sammlung der Welt. Sie umfasst Musikhandschriften, Briefe, Musikinstrumente, Möbel und Gegenstände aus Beethovens Alltag sowie eine kunsthistorische Sammlung mit Bildern, Büsten, Münzen, Medaillen und Briefmarken. Die Museumssammlung wird durch die Bibliotheksbestände ergänzt.

Das Depot der Sammlung, ein nach konservatorischen Anforderungen konzipierter Tresor, befindet sich unter der Bühne des Kammermusiksaals. Viele Künstler fühlen sich durch die architektonische Symbolik in ihrer Beethoven-Interpretation besonders inspiriert.

Der größte Teil der Sammlung wurde digitalisiert und ist im Digitalen Archiv zugänglich. Als Rechercheinstrumente stehen außerdem Kataloge zur Verfügung.