Composers in residence

In co-operation with the German National Academic Foundation the Beethoven-Haus grants scholarships to young composers.

German composers and conductors Manfred Trojahn (2013-2014), Jan Müller-Wieland (2015-2017) and Charlotte Seither (since 2018) offer additional support in their role as mentors. Successful scholarship holders are selected in a competition held by the German National Academic Foundation.

As part of the social programme open to the public, the newly written compositions are presented by the composers and performed by current and former scholarship holders at a final concert.