Back
 

Complete edition of Beethoven's correspondence (continuation)




Beethoven's correspondence provides an unusual level of insight into his person and contains a wealth of information on his daily life and the genesis of his works, which cannot be found in other sources. In the nineteenth century biographical works resulted in collections of his letters being made both in handwritten and printed form, but up till now a really comprehensive and reliable edition in the original language - predominantly German - has not been produced.

The Beethoven-Archiv started work on its edition of the correspondence in 1984. It was conceived as a complete edition and comprises all known letters, written by or to ("letters received") Beethoven. Letters written on his behalf or concerning his interests or those of his correspondents have also been included "third party letters"). Regardless of form and content, any document which conveys a message to an addressee is considered to be a letter.

The complete text of the letters is rendered in a diplomatic transcription, i.e. following the original spelling. This means that the originals must be traced - they are scattered and many are still privately owned. Older publications are generally not adequate sources. They often modernized spellings, contained mistakes caused by difficulties deciphering Beethoven's handwriting and the texts were very often abridged. Aside from the actual communication, the Bonn edition of the correspondence also counts form of address, salutation, place, date (if given) and the address of the recipient as being part of the letter. In this respect it differs from most of the previous editions. The new edition also includes (and appropriately marks) deleted passages and drafts which were almost always omitted from previous publications. If the original letter is not available, has disappeared or been destroyed, the most reliable text sources in either handwritten or printed form are consulted following philological rules.

A difficult problem encountered by the Bonn edition concerns the chronology of the letters. As a high percentage of Beethoven's documents are not dated or are incomplete and dated incorrectly, the correct date has to be worked out by examining the appearance of the original document and the contents - a process which involves enormous attention to detail. This is also an important difference to the previous versions.

Each letter is followed by a commentary which is divided up into a critical apparatus and an explanatory section. The critical apparatus provides information on the sources consulted (where it was found, appearance and condition, facsimile reproductions) and also sometimes variant readings and drafts as well as notes by the recipient and postal markings. The explanatory section deals with questions regarding chronology and content and puts the letter into its biographical context. The editorial guidelines for the Bonn edition of Beethoven's correspondence and its aims are laid out in full in the introduction to Volume 1. The older German and English editions of Beethoven's correspondence are also discussed.

Between the years 1996 and 1998 seven volumes of the Bonn edition were published by G. Henle Publishers in Munich under the title "Ludwig van Beethoven. Briefwechsel. Gesamtausgabe" (Volumes 1-6: Letters from 1783 to 1827, Volume 7: Index). Volume 8 (documents and subject index) is in preparation. An Italian translation by L. Della Croce under the auspices of the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia is underway, the first volumes have been published by Skira Editore in Milan (the first volume in 1999).

Zurück
 

Briefedition Fortsetzung

Beethovens Briefe geben in ungewöhnlichem Maß Einblick in seine Persönlichkeit und enthalten eine Fülle von Informationen zu seinem Lebensalltag und zur Textgeschichte seiner Werke, die nicht aus anderen Quellen zu gewinnen sind. Biographische Arbeiten gingen zwar bereits im 19. Jahrhundert mit Briefsammlungen sowohl in handschriftlicher als auch in gedruckter Form einher, doch ist es zu einer wirklich umfassenden, zuverlässigen Ausgabe in der Originalsprache - überwiegend Deutsch - bisher nicht gekommen.

Die 1984 ins Leben gerufene Briefedition des Beethoven-Archivs ist als Gesamtausgabe konzipiert. Sie erfasst sämtliche nachweisbaren Briefe, die von Beethoven geschrieben oder an ihn gerichtet ("Gegenbriefe") worden sind. Aufgenommen werden auch Briefe, die in seinem Auftrag oder Interesse sowie in dem seiner Korrespondenten verfasst wurden ("Drittbriefe"). Als Brief gilt unabhängig von Form und Inhalt jedes Schreiben, das eine verbale Mitteilung an einen Adressaten transportiert.

Der Text der Briefe wird in diplomatischer Umschrift, "buchstabengetreu", und vollständig wiedergegeben. Zu diesem Zweck müssen die Originalschreiben ermittelt werden, die weit verstreut und vielfach noch in privatem Besitz sind. Ältere Publikationen sind als Quelle in der Regel unzureichend. Sie greifen nicht selten modernisierend in den Wortlaut ein, enthalten Lesefehler, die aus der Eigenart von Beethovens Schrift herrühren, und sind meistens gekürzt. Denn zum Brieftext gehörig zählt in der Bonner Briefedition außer der eigentlichen Mitteilung Anrede, Grußformel, Ort und Datum (falls vorhanden) und die Adresse des Empfängers. In dieser Hinsicht unterscheidet sie sich von den meisten älteren Ausgaben. Wiedergegeben werden, entsprechend gekennzeichnet, auch gestrichene Passagen und Entwürfe, die in früheren Publikationen fast stets unterdrückt wurden. Wenn die Originalschreiben unzugänglich, verschollen oder vernichtet sind, werden nach philologischen Regeln die verlässlichsten handschriftlichen oder gedruckten sonstigen Textzeugen herangezogen.

Ein diffiziles Problem der Bonner Edition ist die Chronologie der Briefe. Da ein hoher Prozentsatz der Schreiben Beethovens undatiert oder unvollständig und auch falsch datiert ist, muss das korrekte Datum in beinahe detektivischer Kleinarbeit aus der äußeren Beschaffenheit des Originalschreibens und nach inneren Kriterien erschlossen werden. Auch hierin liegt ein wichtiger Unterschied zu älteren Briefausgaben.

Jedem Brief wird ein Kommentar nachgestellt, der sich in einen kritischen Apparat und einen Erläuterungsteil gliedert. Der kritische Apparat gibt Auskunft über die herangezogene Quelle (Fundort, äußere Beschaffenheit, Faksimile-Wiedergaben), gegebenenfalls über abweichende Lesarten und Entwürfe sowie über Empfänger- und Postvermerke. Der erläuternde Teil befasst sich mit Fragen der Chronologie und des Inhalts. Er stellt den Brief in seinen biographischen Kontext. Über die Ziele der Bonner Briefausgabe und ihre editorischen Richtlinien gibt die Einführung in Band 1 ausführlich Auskunft. Dort sind auch die älteren deutschen und englischen Beethoven-Briefausgaben behandelt.

Zwischen 1996 und 1998 sind unter dem Titel "Ludwig van Beethoven. Briefwechsel. Gesamtausgabe" sieben Bände der Bonner Briefausgabe im G. Henle Verlag in München herausgekommen (Band 1-6: Briefe von 1783 bis 1827, Band 7: Register). Band 8 (Dokumente, Sachregister) ist in Vorbereitung. Seit 1999 liegen die erschienenen Bände auch in digitaler Form (CD ROM) vor. Eine italienische Übersetzung von L. Della Croce wird unter der Schirmherrschaft der Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia seit 1999 bei Skira Editore in Mailand verlegt.